I watched Dev Patel’s Monkeyman

Monkeyman caught my interest because of the creator and lead actor; Dev Patel. I adored his performance in the Green Knight by A24 and then the more I heard about the film in the lead up to release the more excited I got. The movie was pitched as an Indian John Wick, a title I personally see it surpassing that title. I thoroughly enjoyed John Wick, I found the first movie fun and well made with Keanu performing amazingly in it. But Monkeyman has a much stronger heart to me. The cinematography is more than a highlight to the action, it is beautiful and artful

The use of colour and sound through the film stood out to me strongly, the lighting never felt forced but was always right for the scene. In the fight club the dusty yellow ambience made me feel like I could smell the blood and sweat, the sound design was immaculate, and the action was extremely well choreographed to me. I found the film engaged me better visually than any other film I have seen in Cinemas of late – including Dune, The Creator, and Barbie – all films with a strong visual element.

The cinematography made me feel like I was watching a film from 30 years ago and one from 10 years in the future at once in the best way. Shots were creative and well executed, so much of the filming simply felt masterful to me, and the use of first person perspective especially was such an excellent decision. In some action scenes especially we watch from the protagonists perspective for a brief second, immersing us into his struggle in a truly immersive manner. The entire art of film making felt wonderfully crafted with love and passion.

The story without spoiling anything of note is a vengeance plot that focuses on corruption amongst the upperclass in India, the danger of religion as a tool for power, and the threat of misogyny.

I did not expect to see so much understanding of the struggles of women when I went into this film, and truly did not expect at all to see the care and love in which Transwomen – or Hijras – were depicted. The struggles of rejection, violence, homelessness, and isolation transwomen face as a class of women who it is more acceptable to abuse wasn’t ignored or obfuscated. The film handled them with care and excellence I haven’t seen in any media not made by a transwoman.

I don’t want to go on for too long because I am no expert on film simply someone who loved this movie and wants to tell all of you that you should go support it!

Thank you for taking the time to read this and please go support Monkeyman, we need more new stories like this in cinema.

Leave a comment